French side AS Monaco have emerged the champions of the Ligue 1 after 17 years of wait.

The young but talented side have ended Paris St Germain’s run of four straight titles. The team lifted the crown after seeing off competition from St Etienne on Wednesday evening.

Les Parisiens lifted four straight Ligue 1 titles from the 2012/13 season but Leonardo Jardim and his boys have ended that run. Lyon’s straight seven titles from 2001 till 2008 remains the longest run in the league’s history. Many would have predicted that PSG would replicate it until Monaco ended the party.

PSG gave a good fight but it was just not enough. Ahead of the Etienne clash, Monaco needed just a point to seal the title.

Teenage rave KylianMbappe scored his 15th of the season before ValereGermain added a late second. The victory earned them three points raising their total to 92 points ahead of their closes rival at 86. With just one game left, the difference was enough to deliver Monaco the title.

It is the club’s eight title overall but the first since the 1999/2000 season. Jardim and his boys not only dominated at home, they reached the last four in the Champions League. They were knocked out by a technical Juventus side. RadamelFalcao led the attack this term, scoring 21 goals in the league.

PSG stopped Monaco in the Coupe de la Ligue and Coupe de France. Their effort was not enough to deliver the league and their quest for continental glory ended in shambles as Barcelona disgraced them. Unai Emery and his boys have the next season to look up to.